Anathema to Release Compilation Album ‘Internal Landscapes 2008-2018’

Compilation from the Kscope years due on October 26th and tour dates announced

Photo credit: Caroline Traitler

Anathema will release Internal Landscapes 2008-2018, a 13-track journey through the best of the band’s time at Kscope.

Anathema founder, singer and guitarist Daniel Cavanagh says, “The band isn’t just a way of life, its been much more than that. To us, as a family, writing music of such honesty, and reaching people who feel it similarly, is as profound an expression of art and life as its possible to be. People have said to me it must be cathartic to write songs like this. I often say the real gift is in the people I do it with. For what we share and what we mean to each other when all is said and done... The landscapes are internal”

The release of Internal Landscapes follows an extensive worldwide headline tour, including performances at Download FestivalArcTanGent and Wembley Arena with Opeth in support of their 2017 studio album The Optimist. The release won the Album of the Year at the Progressive Music Awards ’17, reached the top 10 in the Polish charts, top 20 in Germany, top 40 in the UK, and has 5.8 million track streams on Spotify. This built on the success of their previous material, which also won at the Progressive Music Awards, including Album of the Year, Live Event of the Year & Multimedia Package of the Year for 2010’s We’re Here Because We’re Here, 2012’s Weather Systems and 2013’s Universal.

This collection, curated by the band, selects the best works from their prolific output on the label Kscope since 2008. In this time the band left their heavier roots and transcended into emotional heaviness. The album takes its name from the band’s perhaps most heartfelt song, from their most popular album of the period, Weather Systems.

Daniel Cavanagh has provided the album sleeve notes and the artwork was created by long-time collaborator Travis Smith.

Internal Landscapes will be released on CD, LP and available through usual download and streaming platforms and is available to pre-order HERE

Internal Landscapes 2008-2018 tracklisting

  1. Anathema [06:41]
  2. Untouchable part 1 [06:14]
  3. Untouchable part 2 [05:33]
  4. Thin Air [06:00]
  5. Ariel [06:29]
  6. Can’t Let Go [04:34]
  7. Dreaming Light [05:47]
  8. Are you There? [05:11]
  9. J’ai Fait Une Promesse [03:33]
  10. Leaving It Behind [04:27]
  11. Springfield [05:42]
  12. Distant Satellites [08:07]
  13. Internal Landscapes [08:37]

To coincide with the release of Internal Landscapes and the 10 Years Of Kscope show on 2nd October in London, Anathema will be playing a series of intimate acoustic shows, under the title Ambient Acoustic Tour. Anathema will be touring these shows as a four-piece featuring Daniel & Vincent Cavanagh and Lee & John Douglas.

28-09: France, Lille, Theatre Le Splendid

29-09: Netherlands, Tilburg, 013

30-09: Netherlands, Amsterdam, Melkweg

01-10: UK, Leeds, Brudenell Social Club

02-10: UK, London, Union Chapel (10 Years Of Kscope)

03-10: UK, Manchester, Deaf Institute

04-10: UK, Glasgow, The Mackintosh Church

Tickets are now on sale from usual outlets. More information can be found at

Anathema will also be appearing the UK’s Arctangent Festival on Friday 17th August ( )

Anathema Internal Landscapes Album Cover