Brothers of Metal – Prophecy of Ragnarok review

Power metal Norse warriors bringing light to these dark times. More fun than Odin can shake his spear at 8.5/10

Brothers of Metal band
Relative newcomers to the metal scene, Brothers of Metal are a Swedish, Midgardian, eight piece power metal band. Their debut release Prophecy of Ragnarok is a concept album of sorts, regaling the tales of our favourite Norse gods (the Old Gods, for fans of Neil Gaimans American Gods.)

Comprising of anthemic epics with superb vocal deliveries by Ylva Eriksson (Voice of the Valkyries, feminine and fierce), Joakim Lindbäck Eriksson (Battle Cries- gruff vocals) and Mats Nilsson (Tongue of the Gods- spoken word) who deliver us the inspirational, fantastical neo-Viking revival. Three guitarists deliver melodic metal melodies with a pounding pagan rhythm section.
They tell their story thus:

On an immensely cold winters night in 2012, a group of warriors sat down at the local inn after a hard day of plundering. Bored as hell they began to drink an epic amount of mead. All of a sudden one of the warriors picked up a strange device he had looted from a priest earlier that day. It was an electric lute. He started to play and it sounded awesome, so all the other warriors joined in by swinging and smashing their hammers upon the tables and screaming extremly loud. Instantly they knew this was a sound to be reckoned with. And on to this day the sound from that faithfull night at the local inn still echoes around the world.

And you might wonder, who were those fierce warriors?

They are a force so brutal and strong they could lay waste to the world and everything in it!


Brothers of Metal 2

This is heavy power metal, uplifting and euphoric with epic riffs and hooks and it is a perfect party soundtrack of 14 songs.

Opening with Death Of The God Of Light, Ylva is the first vocal we encounter in this incredible introduction to the band which showcases their imaginative qualities. Son Of Odin is a slower power ballad, it further develops both the cast and mythology leaving you hungering for more. Prophecy Of Ragnarok is an epic encompassing cheesy 80’s elements, traditional ‘viking metal’ elements, thrash, death, funk and even symphonic metal elements. It needs to be checked out, here

Defenders Of Valhalla opens with beautiful folk trills and riffs, with a touch of Braveheart before building into a feelgood battle anthem. Concerning Norns is a spoken word introduction to the ‘hymn’ Yggdrasil. The world tree that connects worlds, melancholy, powerful and epic.

Tyr the god that gave us ‘Tuesday’, gives us some great riffs despite having sacrificed an arm. Siblings Of Metal spreading fear with our battle cry, this is the modus operandi for the Brothers of Metal . Gods Of War is similarly anthemic and empowering urging us to hail the Brothers of Metal.

Freya is an ode to the glorious goddess of battle, while The Mead Song is a song about ‘death, mead and a goat’. Dark, with an inspired chant and lyrics and a frenzied folk metal feel. Sleipnir is the eight legged steed of the Allfather, Odin (Loki is Sleipnirs mother, obviously). Fire Blood And Steel and We Believe In Metal close this offering in upbeat power metal glory. Indeed, all you need is metal.

In all, the similarities with Manowar cannot be ignored (aren’t fans called ‘Brothers of Metal’/ Manowarriors), but this is glossier and perhaps a little tongue in cheek. More Steel Panther meets Wagner (Richard, not the X-factor contestant) than Sabaton or Amon Amarth. There are moments that remind me of classic rock and metal tracks (One Vision by Queen and Walk by Pantera to name but two.) This is fun, more fun than Odin can shake his spear at.

Brothers of Metal

  1. Death Of The God Of Light
  2. Son Of Odin
  3. Prophecy Of Ragnarok
  4. Defenders Of Valhalla
  5. Concerning Norns
  6. Yggdrasil
  7. Tyr
  8. Siblings Of Metal
  9. Gods Of War
  10. Freya
  11. The Mead Song
  12. Sleipnir
  13. Fire Blood And Steel
  14. We Believe In Metal

You can order Prophecy of Ragnarok here

Each Monday The Metal Report sends out a list of all stories, interviews, reviews and features we’ve posted for the previous week. You can sign up for it here