Darkthrone announce new album ‘Old Star’

Darkthrone Old Star Album Cover

Legendary Norwegian black metal duo Darkthrone have announced their return with their first new album since 2016’s ‘Artic Thunder‘ with upcoming album ‘Old Star‘. Fenriz and Ted “Nocturno Culto” Skjellum have recorded six new tracks which Fenriz has described:

“Old star – again we are here with THE RIFFS! A while after our previous ARCTIC THUNDER album it became apparent that we would continue in that same style, BLACK OLD HEAVY METAL with slow thrash, classic doom and slow death metal.

As many have focused on the 70’s sound over the last 20 years, the mix on our new album has ended up being more 80’s than ever. The songs are more metal than ever! Ted’s songs have a lot of black metal in them, faster and slower but also doomier parts and recurring parts. My songs are more linear written, it’s an ancient 80’s underground trick, with breaks, all slow heavy or slow thrash, classic doom or slow death.”

All in all it is our most 80’s album so far and our most metal one to date with drum sound typical for the 80’s USA/German market and damned lyrics, which are all written by me. We feel that Old Star is the big brother of Arctic Thunder. More solid and with even better riffs.”

Old Star was recorded at the band’s Necrohell 2 Studios, with engineering and production duties carried out by vocalist/guitarist Nocturno Culto, complemented with a perfectly organic mix courtesy of Sanford Parker (Voivod) at Hypercube Studios, & mastered once more by Jack Control at Enormous Door. The stellar cover artistry comes courtesy of Chadwick St John, titled “The Shepherd of the Deep”.

Over the course of 30 years, Norway’s Darkthrone has become a staple of the global black metal genre, forging a legacy as one of the most renowned and influential bands in its illustrious & often infamous history. In the formative years following their 1987 inception, Darkthrone initially started with a strong concoction of thrash & then death/doom metal experimentation, with broader musical influences spanning from the 60’s to the 80’s, before the debut album Soulside Journey was unleashed in 1991. Never ones to follow convention or stand still even then, the band soon embraced a much darker, more primitive form of expression with the now iconic second album A Blaze in the Northern Sky, & the rest became history.

A few weeks ago the band mused on the writing of the new album, comparing it with their earlier material:

“All I can remember is really the best black metal magic ever… the rehearsals and the recording of Under a Funeral Moon still lies in the bottom of what we’re doing today”

Old Star Track Listing

  1. I Muffle Your Inner Choir [06:26]
  2. The Hardship Of The Scots [07:36]
  3. Old Star [04:28]
  4. Alp Man [05:27]
  5. Duke Of Gloat [06:49]
  6. The Key Is Inside The Wall [07:24]

Old Star is available to preorder from Peaceville’s store

Available formats, each comes with handwritten lyrics in the booklet or insert:


Black 180g vinyl LP

Ltd Edition 180g purple vinyl LP

Ltd Edition 180g green vinyl LP (exclusively available at the Peaceville store)

Ltd Edition 180g orange vinyl LP

Ltd Edition 7” vinyl box set – Old Star is presented on 3 coloured 7” (black, white, clear vinyl) (exclusively available at the Peaceville store)

Cassette (exclusively available at the Peaceville store)

Digital album

Each Monday The Metal Report sends out a list of all stories, interviews, reviews and features we’ve posted for the previous week. You can sign up for it here