Forever Still announce new album Breathe In Colours

First single available nowForever Still

Forever Still are getting serious with new album Breathe in Colours as Maja Shining‘s lyrics centre around a futuristic and dystopian theme. She explains:

“Instead of looking in, we turned our focus to the world and saw it in a state of change. It somehow reminded us of the dystopian cyberpunk future, we’d seen in books and movies when we were kids, where megacorporations own our governments, the world is on the verge of ecological collapse and humanity is fleeing into cyberspace building walls around themselves and closing their eyes to the horrors of the real world. This, and the fact that two of the most influential cyberpunk works of all time, Blade Runner and Akira, are set in 2019, is what gave us the initial idea for the album and its more electronic and raw sound.”

Maja also explained that they didn’t want to produce a plain copy of its predecessor Tied Down, released in 2016 and so made the album a collaborative effort for the first time. The songwriter duo of singer Maja and multi-instrumentalist Mikkel Haastrup brought their long time live drummer, Rune Frisch, into the studio with them to record the drums – a big step for the two young musicians who handled everything on their own on the previous record, from music videos to band photos, the album production and even concert booking.

Today, the Danish modern rock outfit unveils its first music video off the new album. Watch ‘Rewind‘, here:

Forever Still have already revealed some initial info on the new album hidden in binary code language, and the explanation behind the cover artwork of Breathe In Colours designed by Maja herself:

“At first glance the cover art appears quite dark and gloomy, but in reality it’s bursting with colour. Just like the real world – sometimes we just have to look really closely to actually see it. The many numbers behind me represent all the colours in the world in binary code – more commonly known as ‘computer language’ and is at the same time a reference to the world becoming so digital and people escaping into their computers to find colours instead of living in the real world and finding them there.”

Forever Still Breathe in Colours

The Breathe In Colours tracklist reads as follows:

01. Rewind
02. Fight!
03. Breathe In Colours
04. Is It Gone?
05. Survive
06. Do Your Worst
07. Pieces
08. Rising Over You
09. Say Your Goodbyes
10. Embrace The Tide
11. Is It Gone? (Acoustic Version)
12. Perfect Day

Breathe In Colours will be released March 29th and can be pre-ordered here

Each Monday The Metal Report sends out a list of all stories, interviews, reviews and features we’ve posted for the previous week. You can sign up for it here