Kings Destroy to release new album

Fantasma Nera out on 8th March Kings Destroy

Brooklyn’s atmospheric, grunge, doom unit Kings Destroy have announced details on their new album ‘Fantasma Nera’ which is set for release on 8th March via Svart Records.
The album was produced by David Bottrill (Tool, King Crimson) and features artwork by Josh Graham (ex-Neurosis, A Storm of Light).

“We upended our usual approach in creating this album,” says guitarist Carl Porcaro.

“We’d been playing together for so many years, and all of our previous albums were the result of us hashing out the ideas in rehearsal and learning to play the songs live prior to going into the studio. For Fantasma Nera we put the songs first and let the material dictate the means by which the album was created. Producer David Bottrill (Tool, King Crimson) helped us find new creative approaches, and this resulted in an album that doesn’t sound like anything else we’ve ever done.” 

“We challenged ourselves to make the best album we could,” adds singer Stephen Murphy.

“…and we left our guts on the table. When I finished the vocals on this album, I was mentally and physically broken from the effort. I did not sing again for two months after it was recorded. I owed that effort to my bandmates, and they did the same for me.” 

Kings Destroy album

Fantasma Nera tracklist:

  1. The Nightbird
  2. Fantasma Nera
  3. Barbarossa
  4. Unmake It
  5. Dead Before
  6. Yonkers Ceiling Collapse
  7. Seven Billion Drones
  8. You’re The Puppet
  9. Bleed Down The sun
  10. Stormy Times

Pre-orders will be announced soon, as well North American tour dates.

Each Monday The Metal Report sends out a list of all stories, interviews, reviews and features we’ve posted for the previous week. You can sign up for it here