Me And That Man Unleash ‘By The River’ Featuring Emperor’s Ihsahn

Me And That Man debut fifth single from upcoming album New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1

Me and That Man band photo 2020. Black and white photo of the band backlit while walking down a staircase
[Photo Credit: Grzegorz Gołębiowski]

Nergal’s blackened blues project ME AND THAT MAN has released another track from upcoming album, New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1. ‘By The River’ takes you on a drive with the Devil himself, as desert-tinged soundscapes weave throughout the song, Ihsahn of the legendary Norwegian band, Emperor lends his entrancing vocals to the single.

Nergal tells us, “When the rumours first emerged of me collaborating with Rob Halford and Ihsahn, the idea sparked imagination. I guess people would expect a Nergal and Ihsahn partnership to be extreme, but what came out was a bare bones, blues banger! I’ve got to tell you; it wasn’t an easy sell…at first Ihsahn didn’t think there was much he could add – luckily, I knew different and I gave him a simple instruction, ‘have fun’. A week later I got the track back and I was totally blown away! Considering the status of the man, he is humble and professional to the core. It was my pleasure to work with him and now it’s our pleasure to present to you, “By The River”!

Watch The Official Video For “By The River”

Three years after their initial debut, ME AND THAT MAN return. The mysterious collective has surpassed themselves with their new collection New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1 – featuring ominous lyricism atop unfiltered blues, gothic-laced folk, outlaw country and Americana-influenced anthems. The album, set for release on March 27, 2020, visits a completely new spectrum of dark vibes and sees notable heavy music names such as Corey Taylor (Slipknot), Brent Hinds, Matt Heafy (Trivium), Ihsahn (Emperor) and Sivert Høyem (Madrugada). New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1 is a diversified, dynamic masterpiece that presents Nergal in a completely new light, providing a strong contrast to the heavier sounds of Behemoth. Evil has truly never sounded so good.

New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1 Tracklisting:

01. Run With The Devil, feat. Jørgen Munkeby (Shining NO)

02. Coming Home, feat. Sivert Høyem (Madrugada)

03. Burning Churches, feat. Mat McNerney (Grave Pleasures)

04. By The River, feat. Ihsahn (Emperor)

05. Męstwo

06. Surrender, feat. Dead Soul / Rob Caggiano (Volbeat)

07. Deep Down South, feat. Johanna Sadonis (Lucifer) / Nicke Anderson (Entombed)

08. Man Of The Cross, feat. Jerome Reuter (Rome)

09. You Will Be Mine, feat. Matt Heafy (Trivium)

10. How Come?, feat. Corey Taylor (Slipknot / Stone Sour) / Brent Hinds / Rob Caggiano (Volbeat)

11. Confession, feat. Niklas Kvarforth (Shining SE)


New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1 will be available in the following formats:

  • CD Jewel Case

  • CD Media Book

  • LP Gatefold (Black)

  • Deluxe Box (Wooden Box with exclusive 7 inch, Pin, Patch, handmade woodcut print)

  • Digital Album


Exclusive New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1 Release Show:

w/ special guests, including Mat McNerney:

27.03.20 UK – London / Islington Assembly Hall