Monuments release “A.W.O.L” taken from new album, “Phronesis”

New lyric video for song
Monuments Phronesis

MONUMENTS are happy to finally release a first brand-new song, “A.W.O.L”, check out the lyrics video below:

A.W.O.L” is taken from MONUMENTS upcoming album, “Phronesis”, which is scheduled for a release October 5th, 2018 via Century Media Records.

The following formats will be available:
Standard CD Jewelcase
Gatefold LP+CD
North America: Gatefold LP
Digital Album

The following vinyl colours will be available:
500 x Gatefold transp. blue-black splattered LP+CD via the band
200 x Gatefold transp. magenta LP+CD via Century Media Records Distro Wholesale EU & Onlineshop
100 x Gatefold silver LP+CD via Century Media Records EU Onlineshop
Gatefold black LP+CD
North America: 500x Gatefold opaque lavender LP

You can preorder here.

MONUMENTS say about the album: “The word Phronesis was a big part of society and philosophy in ancient Greece. Phronesis is wisdom, but a really specific type of wisdom to do with oneself. Wisdom on your practical actions, good judgement, being excellent in character, practical wisdom. Learning what to do and what not to do based on experience, being mindful of everything around you. Something that, at times, all of us can be pretty terrible at.”

After touring the world heavily in support of their album “The Amanuensis” (2014) the intercontinental quintet needed to take a break and catch a breath for multiple reasons. However, the band kept working on “Phronesis” that works as a turning point of the progressive metal band on many levels. The self-produced album was recorded between March and July of 2018 in various studios throughout the world: While guitars and bass were recorded by Jim Pinder (Bullet For My Valentine, Machine Head, While She Sleeps…) at Treehouse Studios, Derbyshire, UK the drums were played, recorded, tracked and engineered by Anup Sastry (ex-Skyharbor). Chris Barretto recorded his vocals with Cristian Machado (Ill Niňo, Leeway) at Soundwars Studios, NJ, USA, then everything was mixed and mastered by Joel Wanasek at JTW Music, Milwaukee, WI, USA.

The track listing reads as follows:

  1. A.W.O.L
  2. Hollow King
  3. Vanta
  4. Mirror Image
  5. Ivory
  6. Stygian Blue
  7. Leviathan
  8. Celeste
  9. Jukai
  10. The Watch

A full European tour will be announced shortly.