Whitechapel launch video for new single When A Demon Defiles A Witch

Track taken from new album The Valley out March 29thWhitechapel 2019

On March 29th, Whitechapel will release their seventh full-length, ‘The Valley’, via Metal Blade Records. Mixed by David Castillo, mastered by Ted Jensen, and produced once again by Mark Lewis (Cannibal Corpse, The Black Dahlia Murder), ‘The Valley‘ is a reference to the part of Hardin Valley (west of Knoxville, Tennessee) where vocalist Phil Bozeman grew up. Set against this backdrop, he approaches his subject matter unflinchingly, building upon everything that came before, making it clear that he has survived that which he was forced to endure and is not afraid to confront it.

“Phil has been upfront in his lyrics in the past about hardships he endured in his life as a child, and I believe with this record we tried to paint a better picture of that,” says guitarist Alex Wade, who alongside his bandmates, stands 100% behind everything their vocalist has to say. “I feel our music is Phil’s release from his past, being able to get it out and speak about it, and hopefully anyone who hears it that may have gone through similar experiences can find some release in it as well.”

Watch the video for ‘When A Demon Defiles A Witch‘ (directed by Mathis Arnell)

Anyone throwing ‘The Valley‘ on for the first time will immediately recognise it as the work of Whitechapel, yet as has been the case with each release, there is also evolution in play. “Sound-wise, it’s all over the place,” Bozeman states plainly. “There’s aggression, and then you’re hit with ominous and emotional guitar riffs. It’s mean, but then transfers to soft and inviting. It’s a whirlwind of emotions throughout.”
Whitechapel The Valley
‘The Valley’ track-listing:
1. When a Demon Defiles a Witch
2. Forgiveness Is Weakness
3. Brimstone
4. Hickory Creek
5. Black Bear
6. We Are One
7. The Other Side
8. Third Depth
9. Lovelace
10. Doom Woods
The band return to the U.K. in June to play Download Festival plus headline shows in Cardiff and London. For the full list of current tour dates, see below.
Whitechapel European Summer Tour 2019:
Jun 15 – Paris, France – Petit Bain
Jun 16 – Donington, UK – Download Festival
Jun 17 – Cardiff, UK – Clwb Ifor Bach
Jun 18 – London, UK – O2 Islington Academy
Jun 20 – Copenhagen, Denmark – Copenhell
Jun 21 – Dessel, Belgium – Graspop
Jun 22 – Clisson, France – Hellfest
Jun 24 – Geneva, Switzerland – Usine
Jun 25 – Aarau, Switzerland – Kiff
Jun 26 – Stuttgart, Germany – Universum
Jun 28 – Ysselsteyn, Netherlands – Jera On Air
Jun 29 – Munster, Germany – Vainstream Rockfest
Jun 30 – Ferropolis, Germany – With Full Force
Jul 2 – Budapest, Hungary – Durer Kert
Jul 3 – Sofia, Bulgaria – Club Mixtape 5
Jul 4 – Bucharest, Romania – Quantic Club
Jul 5 – Novi Sad, Serbia – Exit Festival
Jul 6 – Ljubljana, Slovenia – Gala Hala
Jul 7 – Milan, Italy – Dissonance Festival

The Valley will be released March 29th and can be pre-ordered here

Each Monday The Metal Report sends out a list of all stories, interviews, reviews and features we’ve posted for the previous week. You can sign up for it here