Within Temptation announce immersive event ‘The Aftermath – A Show In A Virtual Reality’

Dutch powerhouse Within Temptation have announced a new immersive event, The Aftermath – A Show In A Virtual Reality, which will combine music with technology to create an out of this world event like no other.

Frontwoman Sharon Den Adel comments, “During the whole pandemic we weren’t keen on doing a livestream. The magic of seeing and hearing a band perform live – combined with the energy of the crowd – is something you cannot simply recreate with a livestream. So, for a long time we were clueless. One thing we knew for sure: we would not compromise on a livestream if we could offer something out of the ordinary, something jaw dropping, intriguing, spectacular and mythical!

“Then we found it: a world that we could shape into our wildest fantasies and in which we, as a band, could perform while still maintaining the dynamics and magic of our traditional live-show. We are absolutely thrilled to invite you to Within Temptation: The Aftermath – A Show In A Virtual Reality. A show that takes place in different scenes of a post-apocalyptic world, in which we are witness of the aftermath of destruction of mankind. A world in which it is unknown if anyone or anything of the human race survived. It is a search for answers – about both its becoming as well as its legacy.”

The Aftermath is a show fuelled by bleeding-edge technology that enables the band to do a performance that’s out of this world – literally! In this one-hour show Within Temptation will play a variety of newer and older songs in four different worlds, that interact with both the band and the music. Expect guest singers from all over the world to join the band on stage for duets in even more striking settings.

With this show, Within Temptation builds a bridge between the now and the next time the band will be able to play again. “We are absolutely gutted that the Worlds Collide Tour has been pushed back again and we cannot perform live in the same venue as our fans. With this digital show we hope that the fans can still feel our energy, our love for – and above all: our passion for music. Take care and we hope to see you on July 8 or July 9″.

THE AFTERMATH – A SHOW IN A VIRTUAL REALITY
  • July 8, 2021, Europe (8PM CEST / 7PM BST).
  • July 9, 2021, Northern and Southern America (8pm ET (UTC-4) / 5pm PT (UTC -7) / 9pm BRT (UTC3) / 7pm CST (UTC -5).

Tickets are available for €24,99 (1 person) or €29,99 (2 or more people watching in the same room) at within-temptation.com

Along with the immersive event, Within Temptation have announced the release of a brand-new single ‘Shed My Skin’, which will be out two weeks before the show. For this song Within Temptation have teamed up with German metalcore band Annisokay. This collaboration has resulted in a bombastic, heartfelt metal anthem.

‘Shed My Skin’ is the third single of the series of Within Temptation’s independent releases and will be out via all streaming services on June 25th, 2021. The official music video of this song will premiere during Within Temptation: The Aftermath – A Show In A Virtual Reality on July 8th and July 9th, 2021.

A teaser clip of The Aftermath can be viewed below

Within Temptation‘s latest album Resist is available on Amazon.